Tweeting, Tumbling, Trending….What’s next?

Standard

As a child, I can vividly remember watching my parents retrieve and open the mail. With angst and jealousy, I studied their every action as they ripped into those letters, only to discover a hidden treasure inside. To my dismay, they mostly disposed of their trinkets into the trash. As a mere 10 year old, I dreamed of the day that I would walk to my own mailbox and relish in all the letters addressed to me. Unfortunately, my dreams of having an overflowing mailbox may never come to fruition. Technology has crept up on society and turned the writing world upside down. I went from writing out papers with my #2 pencil to hash tagging my class on Twitter. #TimesAreChanging. Not only is all of my writing going viral, but my mailbox is emptying. Well, my physical one is. My virtual mailbox is booming. Almost everything is available on the web now. I order my pizzas, reserve my text books, and even submit my school work on the web. It almost saddens me to see the old fashioned writing system go down the tubes. Now, my greatest achievements include getting a “like” on Facebook or getting a “retweet” on Twitter. Am I really satisfied with these marks of approval? Or am I just over-analyzing this whole internet movement? My guess is I am over-analyzing. However, the Web Writing Style Guide did ease some of my anxiety. Obviously, people still appreciate a great piece of writing, even if it is on the internet. Even better, they can instantly comment with feedback. Best of all, you can develop a following for your writing, without being a distinguished and published author. I like these things, I really do. I can see myself thriving in this internet atmosphere. However, I am still weary of expressing my emotions in 140 characters or less. Does that really do me and my emotional heart justice? Probably not, but I also probably express too much of that emotional heart to innocent Twitter followers. So, what’s next? Should I bid farewell to the Post Office? This is where i find my writing emotions in a dilemma. But, if technology disappeared would I really be happy? Doubtful. I would probably have a nervous break-down. If I no longer had access to autocorrect and spellcheck, I would literally rip my hair out. I would go crazy. So, I guess the old cliche rings true : ” You can’t have your cake and eat it to.” I don’t want all the cake, I just want to walk to the mailbox and open my mail. Is that too much to ask?

6 responses »

  1. I want to write letters in this class… maybe some of us who want to do this could exchange addresses and actually mail some letters to others for part of our writing… why not? Hadn’t though of it before. Whatcha think? Wanna bring it up in class?

  2. I love this idea! I would obviously cherish letters coming into my mailbox! Haha I would definitely participate in an assignment like this! There is nothing more Victorian that exchanging letters an ideas with each other. I love it!!

  3. I can relate, Hillary, to your nostalgia toward letter writing. One of my most vivid memories from my undergraduate years is going to the campus mailbox and finding letters from my parents and friends. They were lifelines and heart food. Victorians are associated with letter writing and the postal system in England…there is a lot of interesting research on this. Tweeting is immediate and often visceral at some level. But I still find it lacking…as compared to letter writing. It seems to me it is more akin to snippets of a conversation. There appears to be a place for it, although Tweeting seems very one-sided in terms of conversational exchange, and I must confess I do more with emails than old fashioned letter writing. I am a fan of technology, but I am not sure how likely I am to toss one form for another.

Leave a Reply

