The Duggars… A modern day Crisparkle family?

Standard

I’m not sure how many of you have seen 19 Kids and Counting on TLC, but if you haven’t – you’re missing out! I will give a brief rundown of the show for you newbies. Jim Bob and Michelle Duggar have 19 children. Michelle has birthed every one of them and I think she might have a set of twins in there. (to be honest, I can’t keep track myself) Anyway, the Duggars’ have structured their family to live by God’s word and do plenty of philanthropic work in their community, state, and country. I’m sure you are asking what does this have to do with The Mystery of Edwin Drood?? Well, I can’t help but think/picture the Duggar family when reading about the Crisparkles’. 

We have mama Crisparkle who has popped out 7 little Crisparkles. Her youngest son Septimus is obviously a man of God – as he is a reverend. I assume he was raised in a Christian home, since he chose to go into the ministry. And Mrs. Crisparkle in a philanthropic woman, herself and obviously has a love for children. Not only because she has seven of them, but because she agrees to let one live with her – even though he is the son of an obese, aggravating, demanding philanthropic “brother.” 

All the similarities between the families, make me enjoy the story that much more. I enjoy me some reality TV and I will relate anything and everything I can to it. Although, I promise not to relate anything to The Jersey Shore….. At leastI will try not to. 😉 

2 responses »

  1. Dickens and The Jersey Shore–it’s a great comparison. We see a certain kind of “shore” society in Dickens in OMF along the Thames… the river… OMG. I mean OMF! Dickens is so a kind of reality TV. I get that–never thought about it before this way–thanks!

Leave a Reply

